Getting married involves more than picking out flowers, cutlery and napkins or the right venue. One of the first things you’ll need to take care of is the legal side of things. That means getting your marriage license. Here’s what you need to know:
You’ll need ID
Be sure to pack along any valid government ID that’s current and up-to-date. Your driver’s license is a solid choice. A U.S. passport, a certified copy of your birth certificate and your social security number are also valid along with a military ID, if you have one.
You will also need your divorce decree if you have been divorce no matter how long ago it was.
No residency requirement
Some states require that one of the couples must be a resident or local before you could tie the knot. That’s not a problem when you get married in Texas. You could easily file for a marriage license in one county and then get married in another, if you find a better venue or church in the area. That makes for very flexible wedding arrangements which is a boon for a lot of soon-to-be-married couples. It’s probably one of the reasons why plenty of people are tying the knot in Texas. Just remember you’ll have to file the license at the same county where you got it in the first place.
Renewing your vows?
Are you in town simply to renew your vows? No need for a license. The state doesn’t record the fact that you are still in love!
Premarital education course
The law encourages couples to undergo the course to give you better conflict management skills and tips for better communication. This runs for 8 hours. The Twogether Course can take care of this and if completed by the couple will Receiving a $60 discount on marriage license fees, and Waiver of the 3-day waiting period. By knowing these things, getting your license and tying the knot in Texas should be a lot easier to manage.